The Mind of One 25 Year Old

Christian * Wife * Conservative * Pro-Life * Musician * Artist

Voting September 25, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — 25 Year Old Woman @ 7:16 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

 

Last night, a friend of mine introduced me to her pastor. While talking to him, she asked him what he thought about what was going on in politics and government. He said, “One thing I never talk about is politics. I have never and will never preach to my church from the pulpit who they should vote for. All I tell them is to vote. It doesn’t matter who they vote for, all that matters is that they vote.” Are you kidding me? I do agree that pastors should not tell their congregations who to vote for but I feel that they should say something like, “Track each of the candidates through the Bible and whoever is closest to following scripture, that’s who you should vote for.” I am so tired of hearing on TV and from people that all that matters is that you vote. No! We shouldn’t be saying, “Just vote!” We should be saying, “Do your research and then vote.” Lots of people think that they are being good Americans and doing their part by just voting. They don’t look into what candidates believe, what they stand for, they just go and vote. I’m sorry but that’s not being a good American; that’s being a lazy American. It may not be as lazy as not voting at all but I personally agree with people who choose to not vote when they know that they have no idea what or who they’re voting for. So, when people who just go and vote without any knowledge of what or who they’re voting for start to complain because they’re unhappy with whoever was elected or whatever laws passed, it makes me want to yell, “Be quiet! You have no right to complain!” And don’t even get me started on people who don’t vote and then feel that they have a right to complain on that topic.

 

2 Responses to “Voting”

  1. Ashleigh Says:

    Amen sister! Our preacher never directly says who to vote for, but he always emphasizes that we need a leader who shares in Christian values, and who will pass laws that will be consistant with a Christian lifestyle.

  2. Mamalana Says:

    I could NOT have said it better. I agree, I agree, I agree.


Leave a Reply

