The Mind of One 25 Year Old

Christian * Wife * Conservative * Pro-Life * Musician * Artist

People Who Hurt Us May 21, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — 25 Year Old Woman @ 2:15 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

 

I was reading a book the other day that discussed something that REALLY helped me. First, let me explain what I had been struggling with. I’ve unfortunately had a few people in my life who were extremely close friends hurt me terribly. I had been struggling with the thought, “God, why did you allow those people to do that to me? Why did you allow them to hurt me? If you’re my father, why didn’t you protect me? Why didn’t you stop them from doing that?”

 

Now back to the book I was reading. It talked about Joseph and his brothers who sold him into slavery. Well, later on in Joseph’s life, he was given an opportunity to get back at his brothers (when they came to Egypt for food and he was 2nd in command) but he showed mercy. Here’s what he said to his brothers, “You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives.” (Genesis 50:20)  The book then went on to explain what I REALLY needed to read. It said that the only reason God permitted Joseph’s brothers to throw him into a pit, sell him into slavery, and then tell his father that he was dead was because God looked into the future and saw that it would bring something wonderful into Joseph’s life. I can’t explain it as well as Beth Moore did in her book so here’s what she said:

 

“God thinks of His children continually. And when God thinks of His children, He only thinks in terms of what can be used toward our good, toward His plan for us, and toward the future. His intentions can only be pure. Right. Full of hope. Promoting peace. Listen carefully. God did not haphazardly or accidentally let Joseph’s brothers throw him in the pit. He had already thought it out in advance. Considered it. Weighed it. Checked it against the plumb line of the plan. He had looked at the good it could ultimately accomplish, the lives that could be helped and even saved. Then, and only then, in His sovereign purpose did He permit such harm to come to His beloved child. Had the incident not possessed glorious purpose, God would have disarmed it.”   – from the book “Looking Up When Life Is Looking Down” by Beth Moore

 

I NEEDED to read that! I learned that God NEVER allows ANYONE to hurt his children unless it will ultimately be good for them and for others. And you know that’s so true. I look back now at the sad situations that have happened in my life and I can see that those situations put me where I needed to be, taught me what I needed to know, and I am so much better off today because of going through them. It is so comforting to me to know that if anyone or anything hurts me in the future, the only reason that God allowed it to happen is if it will ultimately be for my good and that if it isn’t something that will lead to good for me, God will stop it from even happening. He will stop them. God will protect me and He always has.

 

4 Responses to “People Who Hurt Us”

  1. slamdunk Says:

    A good read and an important message. Keep up the good blogging.

  2. Twenty Five Year Old Woman Says:

    Thank you slamdunk!

  3. marycooke Says:

    Your thoughts coincide with some of my own thoughts/blogposts. Found this interesting thought on Jon Acuff’s blog:

    Here is the question I felt like God asked me:

    “Do I have the right to crack the vessel if breaking it is the fastest way to share with the world what I have poured into it?”

    Here is the post address:
    http://stufffchristianslike.blogspot.com/2009/04/532-arguing-about-why-bad-things-happen.html

    Hope you will have a look at my blogs also!

    Thanks for sharing!
    Blessings,
    Mary

  4. Amanda Says:

    Love this. I think we all need to hear it more often.


Leave a Reply

